Frequently Asked Questions

Just click on the questions for the answers

1. Who is a Sharana?

Sharana: A self-realised person, who is one with the supreme consciousness. It is also used to greet one another so that we connect to the true essence of oneself. As Sri Ramzan Darga says: "When the mind is able to follow the orders of the soul the man becomes a Sharana!"

2. What is the relation between Sharana and Samskruti?

Samskruti (Culture): It is often referred to art and other collective manifestations of human intellectual achievements. When we are in our true essence (A Sharana!) we can see the inter-play and interconnection of all beings which manifests as art, beauty, music, literature, servitude so on and so forth, these present deeper touch when aligned with the philosophy, which is what BSOA's efforts are all about.

3. Who is a Bhakta?

Devotee: One whose mind is drenched in God's love, he is one who sees God in all.

4. What is Kaayaka ?

Sincere and selfless work done with constant remembrance of the Lord and offered as worship at the feet of the Lord.

5. What is Ishtalinga?

It is the formless form which assists a seeker to connect with the truth. ​Through proper practice, it aids to concentrate the energies and the mind to experience supreme consciousness. To quote Sri Ramzan Darga: "Ishtalinga is not an idol. It is a figureless form which is the medium to reach your inner self".

6. What is the meaning of Daasoha?

It is a selfless service or charity given with a sense of servitude.

7. What is Kailasa?

It is the abode of the Lord and this is not something that resides in heaven or hell outside of us, but is reverberating deep within each of us as our true essence.

8. Definitions of Guru, Linga and Jangama.

Guru: is our pure inner consciousness which guides us to reach our true essence and it is the force that drives away ignorance or darkness. Guru is not always an animate being. Only when we are aware, we will find Guru in both infinitesimal and significant aspects of life. Linga: "A form to imitate the formless in the form of a form." This form is specifically designed with perfect science to aid practitioners to experience truth, consciousness and bliss. Jangama: A living God.

9. What is Shatsthala?

Shatsthala is derived from “Shat” means six and “sthala” means stage.​ The six stages which aid to transcend the physical limitations and unite with God are:

  • 1. Bhaktasthala
  • 2. Maheshasthala
  • 3. Prasaadisthala
  • 4. Pranalingisthala
  • 5. Sharanasthala
  • 6. Aikyasthala

10. What is the meaning of Arivu?

Awareness, inner consciousness, knowing who you really are and being in that presence.

11. What is meant by Mahamane Karyakrama ?

This is a social gathering of families under one roof whose interest lies in congregation, practice and contemplation of ​ Basava philosophy.